2019 Academic Debates Moderator:

Dr. Miguel Malespin M.D.

Dr. Malespin is a transplant hepatologist at Tampa General Hospital and has an affiliate assistant professor position at the University of South Florida.  After earning a medical degree at Ponce Health Sciences University, Dr. Malespin completed a residency in internal medicine and fellowship in gastroenterology at the University of Illinois, followed by a fellowship in transplant hepatology at Loyola University Medical Center.  Dr. Malespin has multiple publications and presentations on a variety of liver disease topics.  His areas of interest include non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, viral hepatitis, autoimmune liver diseases, and health disparities.  Dr. Malespin is an active member of the AGA, AASLD, ACG, and American Liver Foundation.

2019 Academic Debates Judges

Dr. Tamar Taddei, Associate Professor of Medicine (Digestive Diseases)

Yale New Haven Health

Dr. Emmanuel Thomas, Assistant Professor, Medical Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee

University of Miami Health Systems

Dr. Fernando Castro

Cleveland Clinic Florida

Dr. Amy Lu

Tampa General Hospital

2019 Academic Debates Teams

(Listed in alphabetical order)

Advent Health




Mentor: Dr. Ayman Koteish

Cleveland Clinic Florida

Fellow: Dr. Daniel Castaneda Moyroga

Fellow: Dr. Fnu Asad Ur Rahman (Dr. Rahman)

Mentor: Dr. Bobby Zervos

Emory University Hospital


Fellow: Dr. Muhammad Amir

Fellow: Dr. Cesar Taborada

Mentor: Dr. Mary Flynn

Mayo Clinic




Mentor: Dr. Raj Satyanarayana

Tampa General Hospital




Mentor: Dr. Saurabh Agrawal

University of Florida Gainesville


Fellow: Dr. Joydeep Chakraborty

Fellow: Dr. Manoela Mota

Mentors: Dr. Roniel Cabrera & Dr. Andreas Zori

University of Florida Jacksonville




Mentor: Dr. Peter Ghali

University of Miami




Mentors: Dr. Kalyan Bhamidimarri and Dr. Maria Hernandez

Comments are closed.